Ms Grace Fu Minister for Sustainability and the Environment

The Public Toilets Taskforce was commissioned in March 2024 by the Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment (MSE) to study and recommend solutions to improve the cleanliness of public toilets. The Taskforce comprises representatives from key stakeholder groups, such as professionals, operators, industry associations as well as government agencies. We focused on public toilets that consistently fare poorly in cleanliness surveys, such as those at coffeeshops and hawker centres.

- Over the course of its work, the Taskforce has assessed the key issues faced by premises with poor-performing public toilets and identified four key pillars that would be important in ensuring cleaner public toilets. These are (1) Design and Infrastructure, (2) Cleaning and Maintenance with Adoption of Technology, (3) Monitoring by All Stakeholders, Audit and Enforcement, and (4) Engagement and Outreach.
- We are happy to report that the Taskforce has completed its work and hereby submits 10 key recommendations, centred on these four pillars. We hope that these recommendations will be considered positively by MSE, and be adopted and implemented widely by all stakeholders to bring about cleaner public toilets for everyone.
- 4 We thank you for the privilege of serving on the Public Toilets Taskforce.

Co-Chairs:

Mr Baey Yam Keng Senior Parliamentary Secretary Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment

Inufainley

Chairman Public Hygiene Council

Mr Andrew Khng

Members:

Mr Andrew Ang Mr He Kang Wei Mr Kenneth Lee (President, (Director (Rejuvenation & (President, Kheng Keow Environmental Town Councils), Ministry Coffee Merchants Management Association of National Restaurant and Bar-Development) of Singapore) Owners Association) Dr Abdul Jalil Abdul Mrs Heng-Ng Mien Joo Mr Koh Min Ee Kader (Group Director, (Divisional Director. (Assistant CEO Properties and Land **Environmental Policy** Group, Housing and Division, Ministry of (Operations), Singapore Food Agency) Development Board) Sustainability and the Environment) Mr Chan Jian Kai Mr Ho Chee Kit Ar. Melvin HJ Tan (Head of Operations, (President (Restroom (President, Singapore Koufu Pte Ltd) Association (Singapore)) Institute of Architects) Mr Chew Ming Fai Assoc Prof. Ho Kong Dr Paulin Straughan (Professor of Sociology (Director-General (Public Chong (Practice) and Dean of Health), DCEO, National ((Head of Studies), Students, Singapore Environment Agency) **Urban Studies National University** Management University) of Singapore) Mr Choo Chee Wee Mr Hong Poh Hin Dr Tan Chee Keong (Editor, Shin Min Daily (Chairman, Foochow (Principal Fellow, Coffee Restaurant & Bar Permanent Way and News) Merchants Association) Buildings and Facilities, SMRT) Mr Clarence Tan Mr John Leong Mr Tan Jwu Yih (Deputy Chief Editor, (General Manager, (Director Marine Parade Town Channel News Asia) (Building Plan and Council) Universal Design Department), **Building and Construction** Authority) Mr Dennis Quek Ms Kartini Omar Ar. Tan Yong Shen (General Manager, (Group Director, Park (Assistant Director, Design Fairprice Group Development and Design Standards, SportSG) Division. National Parks (Kopitiam)) Board)